Gustavo Fischer – o blogueiro que merece a categoria de excelente ali do lado – esses dias me apresentou The Wallflowers. curti muito muito e descobri em duas músicas um misto do que estou sentindo no momento. a Roda da Fortuna parece estar querendo virar tudo mesmo do avesso – e está bom viver essa sensação de “alguém pensou em mim de modo especial hoje”…

começo a acreditar que Deus não cria garotas solitárias, ele não sabe nada de mim, mas me acha bonita, e talvez isso lhe baste nesse momento. eu continuo me sentindo só, mas me sinto parecida com outra pessoa…. é o maravilhoso caos criador advindo do desejo e da expectativa.

.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:

as duas são do álbum Bringing Down The Horse, publicado pela Universal Music, em 1996. segundo Mr Excelente, o melhor álbum deles.

God Don’t Make Lonely Girls

Senorita looks like you ain’t done nothing good women ain’t supposed to do
Oh no no no no
I seen her downtown
‘Bout an hour ago
Behind the glass at a peep show
I got nervous ’cause I don’t know
Can she see me behind that window?

It’s almost nine and I’m back in line
I can’t get the girl with the Spanish tears out of my mind
I’ve got to make her mine, all mine
But somethin’ is wrong
She don’t belong
She oughta be back where she’s from
Maybe back on this Mexico City
Man, I don’t know her
But she sure is pretty

But God don’t make lonely girls
Sure didn’t want ’em in His world
God don’t make lonely girls

Now when I make that girl all mine
I’m gonna stand by her
Once I get inside of
Her barbed wire
Once I get inside
I bet she’d look good in a brand new dress
She never felt good in her fish net
She’s got to be this towns best mess
But it ain’t nothin’ that her face would suggest

But God don’t make lonely girls
Sure didn’t want ’em in His world
God don’t make lonely girls

I gotta make her see
I’m a guarantee
Oh, if she’d only come along with me
Well I can make her see
Gonna take a walk right through these walls
‘Cause she’s comin’ home with me
I ain’t even gonna touch her at all
Man, I’m only gonna lay awake and watch her sleep

But God don’t make lonely girls
Sure didn’t want ’em in His world
God don’t make lonely girls

.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.:.

One Headlight

So long ago, I don´t remember when
That´s when they say I lost my only friend
Well they said she died easy of a broken heart disease
As I listened through the cemetery trees

I seen the sun comin´ up at the funeral at dawn
The long broken arm of human law
Now it always seemed such a waste
She always had a pretty face
So I wondered how she hung around this place

Chorus:
Hey, come on try a little
Nothing is forever
There´s got to be something better than
In the middle
But me & Cinderella
We put it all together
We can drive it home
With one headlight

She said it´s cold
It feels like Independence Day
And I can´t break away from this parade
But there´s got to be an opening
Somewhere here in front of me
Through this maze of ugliness and greed
And I seen the sun up ahead
At the county line bridge
Sayin´ all there´s good and nothingness is dead
We´ll run until she´s out of breath
She ran until there´s nothin´ left
She hit the end-it´s just her window ledge

(chorus)

Well this place is old
It feels just like a beat up truck
I turn the engine, but the engine doesn´t turn
Well it smells of cheap wine & cigarettes
This place is always such a mess
Sometimes I think I´d like to watch it burn
I´m so alone, and I feel just like somebody else
Man, I ain´t changed, but I know I ain´t the same
But somewhere here in between the city walls of dyin´ dreams
I think her death it must be killin´ me

Deixe uma Resposta

